Ode to Belltown

Our first ‘home’ in Seattle was an apartment in Belltown, right next to downtown and also Lower Queen Anne. This is the street – 4th ave.

My understanding of this area is that it’s regarded as a bit ‘sketchy’. As in other parts of downtown Seattle, there are some homeless people, and I think there’s been some violent crime there. We heard sirens many nights when we were there, but I won’t lie, being 19 floors up does give you a feeling of security, even if it shouldn’t.

Another description was ‘party town’, and I know there’s a live music venue there – The Crocodile – which is supposed to be cool. (Bombay Bicycle Club played there, so I think it must be cool!)

Party town isn’t really my area of expertise, but for me, Belltown was our warm, convenient first-home-in-Seattle. I still look out for our ‘old building’ when we go downtown on the bus. And though perhaps it’s a bit melodramatic on my part, I feel a slight sense of – perhaps not nostalgia – but maybe just a fondness for it.

When we first arrived, Chris hadn’t started work, and we were treated to a few successive days of cold but brilliantly clear weather. We just walked about like tourists and enjoyed the city’s sights. From Belltown, it’s easy to walk to the main shopping area in the city, to the Space Needle and Children’s Museum, and to Elliot Bay Park for a run around. Lots of buses to everywhere go though there too. Sometimes, we stopped for a coffee and hot chocolate at Boulangerie Nantaise on the ground floor of the building – delicious. And then back to our apartment to stare at the view.

It was a wonderful place to start getting acquainted with our new city, and I think it made all the difference to making us feel all excited about the move.

As sketchy as it may be, Belltown will always have a special place in my heart.

6 thoughts on “Ode to Belltown

  1. I didn’t know you were staying in place that was a bit sketchy! Or I would have insisted you moved, haha!… Our old place in St Yarra near Chapel St was totally sketchy, but we stayed there for 10 years.

    • Haha, no it didn’t seem all that sketchy really! At least not more than any other inner city area. But it has a reputation.

      Exactly! The sketchy places aren’t all bad…and so convenient!

  2. Funny how that is eh! I feel the same way about a certain suburb of Sydney (won’t mention it), the first we lived in when we moved here:)
    p.s. I can’t seem to follow you publicly on your blog so just added you to my blog list on my side bar:)

    • Yes, there are a few sketchy ones in Sydney too…and I think I know where you mean! But usually (hopefully) they have a few good points.

      Ok! I’m just happy you’re reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

