Afternoon in the sun…snow…sun

Looking back through these posts, I realise I haven’t addressed the weather here. And from the photos I’ve strategically chosen, you may be getting the impression that Seattle is a sun-drenched mecca. Haha.

You know that Seattle has a reputation for terrible weather. One of the quotes from Sleepless in Seattle goes like this:

-“It rains 9 months of the year in Seattle!”

– “I know! I do not want to move to Seattle.”

The thing is, when you’re contemplating moving with your husband and two young children across the world, to what’s likely a demanding job, in a place where you know no one, a bit of rain doesn’t seem like that big a deal. And as I mentioned, the first few days were utterly gorgeous.

So let me be straight with you. It does rain a lot here. You have a stretch of a week or so where five days it’ll rain or be drizzly and two days it’ll be clear.

It doesn’t rain heavily; you don’t get mad flashes of rain and hail or torrential downpours. It’s a drizzly rain, you look out the window to see if it’s rain, mist, or sleet. And then you just rug up and head out anyway. It doesn’t stop anyone from doing their normal stuff, which I think is kind of cool.

However, the weather here is also seriously changeable, today providing the perfect example. Evan and I headed out this afternoon with his little green glider bike, for a ride before school bus pick-up time. It was sunny. F-r-e-e-z-i-n-g, but sunny. We’re bundled up for the weather, so no worries. He’s riding along having a great time when it starts to rain lightly. This is pretty standard; a bit of light rain, a bit of sun in the distance. Very Seattle.

We’re approaching the bus stop on foot  (I’d also brought Joy’s scooter along so she could scoot home from the bus stop) when Evan and I both notice that it’s started to snow. Actual, light, feathery snow. It’s not settling, but definitely soft and icy to touch.

At this point, I’m wondering what’s going on. And how it is that it’s grey and windy and snowing, and I’m walking around outside with both a bike and a scooter. No one around me is bothered. I gape at two joggers running by us in bike shorts,  t-shirts, and wet hair, who although were caught out by the unexpected snow, were not at all deterred by it. Madness, I tell you.

We huddle under the shelter and wait with the other near-frozen parents and siblings for the school bus, and we collect Joy with no problems. And then, to my utter amazement, the snow stops and the sun comes out. Blue sky and everything.

So what do we do? We ride, walk, and scoot home with the sun on our backs.

6 thoughts on “Afternoon in the sun…snow…sun

  1. hmm hmm yes I wasnt’ going to mention the weather:) I’d also heard bad reports about Seattle’s weather! it’s funny how Sydney siders complain about the weather (me included) when it rains etc. I think it’s because we’re so spoiled with good weather that when a bit of rain hits we don’t cope too well! however if we had to live with it all the time we’d have to suck it up and get used to it:) I’ve seen this with Ballarat, people out running and walking despite the freezing / rainy days.

    • Exactly! I know in Sydney if a couple of days of rain were forecast we’d plan to stay in and then head out again when it was fine…because we knew it would clear up. It’s a bit different when it rains for so many days in a row. It can be tiresome for sure, but one positive I think is that you learn to appreciate the beauty/interest of a place without regard to the weather. 🙂

  2. You paint such a beautiful picture Mai with your writing ~ I feel like I am in Seattle by just reading your posts! Except… i’m not freezing… x

Leave a Reply

